This week (XI) Euroregion: Alpen-Adria (basic facts)

1 Euroregion x week


The Alps-Adriatic Alliance was founded on November 22nd 2013 in Klagenfurt am Wörthersee on the initiative of Carinthia´s governor Dr. Peter Kaiser. It represents a completely new, dynamic, flexible and low-threshold network-structure for project-oriented cooperation in the Alps-Adriatic area.

The founding members are
– the Austrian regions: Carinthia, Styria, Burgenland,
– the Croatian counties: Istria, Karlovac, Krapina-Zagorje, Koprivnica Križevci
Međimurje and Varaždin,
– Slovenia, represented by Skupnost Občin Slovenije (SOS) – the Association of Cities and Towns of Slovenia,
– and the Hungarian county Vas.

The Croatian county Virovitica-Podravina joined the Alliance in March 2014 as its 12th regular member. Cooperation within in the framework of the Alps-Adriatic Alliance is open to public authorities, private organizations and NGOs. The new network aims to close the gap between existing transnational cooperation areas such as the Alpine-, Danube- and Adriatic-Ionian program- areas. Core objective of the Alps-Adriatic-Alliance is the comprehensive and efficient use  of transnational EU-programs for…

View original post 17 more words